19.6 C
Monday, September 25, 2023
No menu items!

Over 51% votes cast in Tripura

A CPI supporter was beaten up outside the Kalacherra polling station in the Shantirbaazar constituency of South Tripura district when he was on his way to the polling station.

Must Read

Agartala: Over half of the electorate exercised their franchise till 1 p.m. amid high security for the 60-member Tripura Assembly election on Thursday.

Police said except for some sporadic complaints of violence in Ramnagar and Khayerpur constituencies of Agartala from opposition parties, polling has been peaceful across the tiny North Eastern state, where a total electorate of around 28.13 lakhs – including 13.98 lakh women and 77 third genders – is eligible to decide the fate of 259 candidates across 3328 polling stations.

- Advertisement -

“As of 1 p.m., an average of 51.42 percent of the votes had been cast,” an election official said.

A CPI supporter was beaten up outside the Kalacherra polling station in the Shantirbaazar constituency of South Tripura district when he was on his way to the polling station. He has been hospitalised and a suo motu FIR has been lodged, the police said.

Most of the polling stations in the city saw a high turnout of voters and long lines in front of the booths. The polling, which began at 7 a.m. at a brisk pace, was slow initially in some polling stations where EVMs malfunctioned or the polling staff were on their maiden election duty. 

As many as 10 polling stations in the city are being managed by all women polling officials and women security personnel.

The Chief Minister cast his vote at Maharani Tulsibati HS School in front of Ujjayanta Palace and claimed that not only would he coast to a big win from the Bardowali seat, but BJP will also return to power with a comfortable majority, as people have rejected the CPI-M-Congress alliance in the election.

‘ I am in close touch with the administration, and no problem has been reported so far from anywhere,” the Chief Minister said.

In the midst of a tough battle for state power, the Abhoynagar area under the Agartala constituency sprang a pleasant surprise as both Congress and BJP workers erected their makeshift booth camp together and shared snacks with a smile. In Agartala, heavyweight Congress leader Sudip Roybarman is contesting against BJP nominee and the party’s state general secretary, Papia Datta.

Former CM and CPI-M Politburo member Manik Sarkar alleged that ruling party cadres resorted to violence and prevented voters in Dhanpur and Mohanpur at the behest of Union Minister Pratima Bhowmik and Education Minister Ratan Lal Nath, both of whom are contesting the seats as BJP nominees. He expressed resentment over the response of the election machinery and sought the attention of ECI.

The ruling BJP is in the fray in 55 constituencies, while its coalition partner, the Indigenous Peoples Front of Tripura (IPFT), is contesting in six seats, as they could not arrive at an understanding in Ampinagar.

Former adversaries the Left Front and the Congress have joined forces to challenge the saffron camp. The Left Front’s main constituent CPI-M has fielded candidates in 43 seats, its other partners CPI, Forward Bloc, and RSP are in the fray in one seat each, while Congress has been allotted 13 seats.

In Ramangar, both LF and Congress are backing an independent candidate, a renowned lawyer, and human rights activist, Purusattam Roybarman.

Tribal outfit Tipra Motha, led by popular royal scion Pradyot Kishore Debbarman, has put up candidates for 42 seats, while the Trinamool Congress is battling in 28 constituencies.

There are 58 independents and 20 female aspirants in the race.

The vote count is on March 2.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Asian games 2023: Indian men’s hockey team thump Uzbekistan 16-0

Hangzhou: The Indian men’s hockey team thumped Uzbekistan 16-0 in its opening Asian Games 2023 Pool A match at...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -