11.4 C
Wednesday, December 7, 2022
No menu items!

Majority of Assam legislators cast votes for presidential polls

A total of 119 of the 126 Assam MLAs have exercised their franchise.

Must Read

Guwahati: In line with other parts of the country, legislators of the Assam Assembly including Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma cast their votes for the presidential polls on Monday.

A total of 119 of the 126 Assam MLAs have exercised their franchise.

- Advertisement -

Chief Minister Sarma, after casting his vote, tweeted, “I cast my vote for the 2022 presidential election.”

Legislators of both the ruling NDA and Opposition Congress and AIUDF were seen queuing on the assembly premises before voting began at 10 AM.

Most of the cabinet ministers and Leader of Opposition Debabrata Saikia have cast their votes, an official said.

An Assam MLA’s vote is valued at 116 with the total value being 14,616.

The ruling NDA has 79 MLAs, while three BPF members who support the alliance but have not formally joined it are also likely to vote for Murmu.

Congress has 27 MLAs but three of them have been suspended due to anti-party activities and they have not made it clear in whose favour they will vote.

Assam has a total of 21 MPs, 14 in the Lok Sabha and seven in the Rajya Sabha, and the total value of the votes is 14,700.

The ruling NDA has a total of 15 MPs, with BJP having 13 and its allies AGP and UPPL one each, while one Independent is also likely to vote in favour of Murmu.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

MPCC demands joint inspection of PMGSY works in Manipur

Imphal: Continuing its tirade against the ruling BJP government, Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee Tuesday invited the Biren-Singh led government...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -