21 C
Sunday, November 27, 2022
No menu items!

59 of 60 MLAs in Arunachal cast vote for Presidential election

BJP MLA from Koloriang constituency, Lokam Tassar, did not cast his vote, he said.

Must Read

Itanagar: Polling for the election of the 16th President of India completed ‘successfully’ in the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Secretariat here on Monday, official sources said.

A total of 59 legislators of the 60-member Assembly exercised their franchise, confirmed Assistant Returning Officer cum Arunachal Pradesh Assembly Secretary Kago Habung.

- Advertisement -

BJP MLA from Koloriang constituency, Lokam Tassar, did not cast his vote, he said.

Earlier, the polling began at 10 am at the Nokmey Namati Hall of the Assembly Secretariat in presence of the ECI-appointed observer Naresh Pal Gangwar, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Electoral Officer Padmini Singla, and Assistant Returning Officers Habung and Tadar Meena (Additional Secretary).

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu was the first to cast his vote. Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein and Liromoba MLA Nyamar Karbak were the second and third to cast their ballots.

In the 60-member Assembly in Arunachal Pradesh, the ruling BJP has 48 legislators, while the NDA partners – NPP has four, JD(U) has one and three Independents. The grand old party Congress has four members.

Arunachal’s all three MPs – two in Lok Sabha and one in Rajya Sabha – cast their votes in the Parliament House, sources said, adding that in Arunachal Pradesh, the value of vote of an MP is 700, while that of an MLA is eight.

Former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu is the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate, while former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha is the joint opposition nominee for the top constitutional post. 

The term of office of President Ram Nath Kovind is ending on July 24.

Counting of votes will take place on July 21. 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Masterclasses, In-conversations add value to 53rd IFFI at Goa

Panaji: Learning being a continuous process, hundreds of delegates at the 53rd International Film Festival of India (IFFI) starting...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -