21.2 C
Thursday, June 30, 2022
No menu items!

Assam: BJP led NDA wins 75 seats in Assam

Congress-led Grand Alliance garners 50 seats in the final tally

Must Read

Guwahati: In the final results of the Assam Assembly elections 2021, the BJP led NDA won 75 seats out of the 126 assembly seats while Congress-led Grand Alliance managed to win 50 seats.
BJP won 60 seats and Congress was able to garner 29 seats as announced by the Election Commission of India (ECI).
BJP’s alliance partners Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) won 9 seats and United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) won 6 seats.
The Congress-led Grand Alliance partners, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) won 16 seats, Bodoland People’s Party (BPF) 4 seats and Communist Party of India (Marxist) won 1 seat.
The jailed activist and president of newly-floated Raijor Dal Akhil Gogoi has won the election from Sibsagar seat.
However, newly-floated another political party and Raijor Dal’s partner Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) failed to open its account.
According to the ECI website, in this election, BJP’s vote share increased to 33.21% while Congress’ vote share was 29.7%.
The vote shares of other parties are AGP – 7.91%, AIUDF – 9.29% and others – 13.7%.
Meanwhile, Assam Congress president and Rajya Sabha Member Ripun Bora has resigned as the state party president taking responsibility for the party’s defeat in the Assam Assembly election.
Ripun Bora himself failed to win the Gohpur Assembly seat and was defeated by BJP candidate Utpal Bora.
Luronjyoti Gogoi, the president of Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) and former All Assam Students Union (AASU) general secretary, lost the poll battle from both Naharkatia and Duliajan seats.
BPF’s all three ministers in the BJP-led coalition government, Pramila Rani Brahma, Chandan Brahma and Rihon Daimary failed to come out victorious in the Assam Assembly election.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

India’s Vice President election on August 6

New Delhi: The Election Commission on Wednesday announced that the election for the Vice President of India will be...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -