27 C
Friday, March 24, 2023
No menu items!

Pushkar Singh Dhami sworn-in as Uttarakhand CM; seven MLAs take oath as Cabinet ministers

With this, the 45-year-old MLA became the youngest chief minister of the state.

Must Read

Dehradun: Two-time BJP MLA from Khatima constituency, Pushkar Singh Dhami, was on Sunday sworn-in as the 11th Chief Minister of Uttarakhand.

Governor Baby Rani Maurya administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mr Dhami at a small function held with COVID-19 protocols at the lawns of Raj Nivas here.

- Advertisement -

With this, the 45-year-old MLA became the youngest chief minister of the state.

“I have worked with the youth and know their situation. The pandemic had a great toll on their livelihood. I will try to end their miseries and also fill the vacant posts in the government offices by appointing youngsters,” Mr Dhami told mediapersons after swearing-in.

In the ceremony, BJP MLAs, Dhan Singh Rawat, Rekha Arya, Yatishwaranand,Bishan Singh Chuphal, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey, and Ganesh Joshi took oath as ministers of the new State Cabinet.

Mr Dhami was elected as leader of the legislative party on Saturday by the BJP leaders in presence of central observers Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar and BJP general secretary D Purandareshwari.

Mr Dhami is the third chief minister to hold the top post this year. His predecessor Tirath Singh Rawat, a Lok Sabha MP, resigned from the post of the chief minister on Friday due to a constitutional crisis.

The COVID-19 situation made it difficult for him to get elected to Vidhan Sabha through bypolls before the stipulated six months period ending in the first week of September.

Earlier in March, Trivendra Singh Rawat resigned from the chief minister’s post as asked by the high command over certain issues.

Uttarakhand will go to the Assembly polls in 2022.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

IS stronger today in Afghanistan after US withdrawal – CENTCOM Chief

Washington: The Islamic State terror group (banned in Russia) has a stronger presence in Afghanistan following the US withdrawal...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -