20.2 C
Sunday, September 25, 2022
No menu items!

Manipur polls: Konthoujam AC at 90.10% had the highest polling percentage in 1st phase

The final voting percentage will be notified after the arrival of all political parties. 

Must Read

Imphal: The 1st phase of voting held across 38 Assembly Constituencies Monday with 78.03 % of the total 12,09,439 voters in the state exercising their franchise, as per a press release from the CEO, Manipur, Rajesh Agrawal.

Konthoujam AC had the highest polling percentage 90.10%, followed by Patsoi (90 %) and Wangoi AC (88.06%), while Tipaimukh (63.61%), Saikot (68.5%) constituencies witnessed the lowest voting percentage. The final voting percentage will be notified after the arrival of all political parties. 

- Advertisement -

Four Assembly Constituencies namely 13- Singjamei, 14-Yaiskul, 15-Wangkhei and 58- Churachandpur was entirely manned by all women polling teams. It is also notable that 1 polling station in 59-Saikot was manned entirely by PwD polling personnel.

EVMs are being deposited to the Strong Rooms and shall be guarded by a three-tier security system. Decisions on re-polls, if any, shall be decided accordingly, continued the press release.

CEO also informed that some poll-related minor incidents were reported in a few polling stations and appropriate action on the same was taken. In addition, a total of 32 observers deputed by the Election Commission of India for the first phase of polls, including the Special Observers, were mobile throughout the day witnessing polling at hundreds of polling stations. 

There were complaints from certain political parties & candidates during the poll. However, the majority of the issues were resolved and prompt actions are taken. The scrutiny of Form 17 A and other documents will be conducted by the Returning Officers in presence of General Observers on March 1, 2022. Decisions on re-polls, if any, will be decided accordingly, CEO added

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Arunachal CM, two MLAs from Tawang adopts TB patients

Itanagar: Under the Pradhan Mantri TB Mukt Bharat Abhiyaan, all three MLAs of Tawang district, including Chief Minister Pema...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -