26 C
Sunday, October 2, 2022
No menu items!

Manipur: Newly-elected MLAs take oath

Meanwhile, there is still no official word on the next CM candidate.

Must Read

Imphal: All the newly-elected MLAs in Manipur took oath as members of the legislative assembly Monday. 

Sorokhaibam Rajen Singh, who was sworn in as  the protem speaker of the Assembly, administered the oath of office and secrecy to the MLAs.

- Advertisement -

Caretaker Chief Minister N Biren Singh, newly elected MLAs Biswajit Singh, Y Khemchand Singh, Govindas Konthoujam, former 3-time CM Okram Ibobi Singh also took oath.

“I’m privileged and honoured to have (been) sworn in as a Member of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly at the Assembly Hall in Imphal today,” caretaker Chief Minister N Biren Singh, who submitted his resignation letter as CM to Governor La Ganesan two days ago, tweeted.

The term of the outgoing assembly is due to expire on March 19.

Before the elections, the BJP had informally declared that Singh will be the party’s chief ministerial face and will head the next government. The BJP went solo this time and contested all seats alone. The party won 32 seats out of 60 in Manipur.

Meanwhile, there is still no official word on the next CM candidate. The names of incumbent Singh, senior minister Thongam Biswajit and seven-time MLA Konthoujam Govindas are doing the rounds.

The oath taking ceremony started at 11:00 am and lasted for about one hour and forty minutes (01.40hrs). Out of the 59 MLAs who took oath Monday, 32 are from BJP, 7 from NPP, 6 from JDU, 5 from INC, 5 from NPF, 2 from KPA, 3 are Independent MLAs.

This time, there are five lady MLAs which is also the highest ever in the history of Manipur Legislative Assembly. Out of the sixty elected MLAs in the 12th Manipur Assembly, twenty three (23) are new faces.

The BJP had secured a majority by winning 32 of the state’s 60 seats, followed by National People’s Party seven, Janata Dal (United) six, Congress five, Naga People’s Front five, Kuki People’s Alliance two besides three Independents.

The term of the outgoing Assembly expires on March 19. With agency inputs

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Rich tributes offered to Father of the Nation in Manipur

Imphal: People of Manipur paid tributes and homage to the Father of the Nation, Mahatma Gandhi by observing the...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -