20.1 C
Wednesday, October 5, 2022
No menu items!

34 candidates in fray for six ACs of Churachandpur, Pherzawl Districts

Second randomisation of EVMs and VVPATs in respect of Tipaimukh, Thanlon, Henglep, Churachandpur, Saikot and Singhat ACs is slated to be held on February 14 at the Conference Hall of DC’s office.

Must Read

Churachandpur: Churachandpur has been preparing for the polls smoothly and the second randomisation of polling personnel was held Saturday evening at DC’s office here. 

Meanwhile, in order to ensure that nothing is left to chances for the successful conduct of the State Assembly elections, 2022, the District Election Officer/DC Pawan Yadav has convened Nodal Officers’ meeting daily wherein problems and progress were shared and discussed. 

- Advertisement -

Second randomisation of EVMs and VVPATs in respect of Tipaimukh, Thanlon, Henglep, Churachandpur, Saikot and Singhat ACs is slated to be held on February 14 at the Conference Hall of DC’s office.

A total of 34 candidates are in the fray for the six ACs. With 8 candidates, 59-Saikot AC has the highest number of candidates. The contesting candidates in this AC are George T. Haokip (NCP), incumbent caretaker Chairman of ADCC Khaipao Haokip (NPP), Paolienlal Haokip (BJP), sitting MLA T.N Haokip (INC), John H. Pulamte (JD-U), Joshua Thiek (KNA), John MK Thang (Ind) and Karong Onkholer (Ind). Saikot AC has a total of 61442 voters which included 29713 male, 31724 female voters and two transgender voters. The AC has 80 polling stations including one auxiliary PS.

55-Tipaimukh AC is all set for a triangular contest among Dr. Chaltonlien Amo (BJP) the sitting MLA; Ms. Thangthatling Sinate (NPP), the lone woman candidate for the entire two districts and Ngursanglur Sanate (JD-U). Tipaimukh AC has a total of 18550 voters (9232 male and 9288 female). It has 39 polling stations.

                In 56-Thanlon AC, there are six contenders namely Khanthang Tonsing (NPP), sitting MLA Vungzagin Valte (BJP), Lalhlunsang Sungte (Shiv Sena), Thangkhangin (LJP), Thangkhosei Guite (JD-U) and former Chairman of ADCC Langkhanpau Guite (Ind). In all, there are 17926 voters (8973 male and 8972 female voters). The AC has 41 polling stations.

Likewise, 57-Henglep AC has also six in the fray. They are Letzamang Haokip (BJP), ex-Minister T. Manga Vaiphei (INC), Nehminthang Haokip (NPP), Genneikhup (JD-U), former MLA T. Thangzalam Haokip (Shiv Sena) and Sehpu Haokip (Ind). This AC has 31879 voters (15408 male and 16177 female voters). There are 60 polling stations in Henglep AC.

58-Churachandpur AC has seven contenders namely V. Hangkhanlian (BJP) who is also a former Minister and sitting MLA; H. Mangchinkhup Paite (INC), former editor of The Lamka Post Th. Thangzalian (NPP), Dr. Jainson Haokip (KNA), former DGP of Manipur Lallian Mang Khaute @ LM Khaute (JD-U), H. Lianchinthang (LJP) and James Khuma Hauzel (Ind). With 64095 electors, Churachandpur AC has the largest number of voters among the six ACs of Churachandpur and Pherzawl districts. It has 29978 male voters and 34117 female voters. The AC has 82 polling stations.

60-Singhat AC will see a close contest among four contenders which included sitting MLA Ginsuanhau Zou (BJP), Tuankhan Kiamlo Hangzo (INC), Chinlunthang (KPA) and T. Hangkhanpau (JD-U). Singhat AC has a total of 27463 voters (13409 male and 14054 female voters). It has 56 polling stations.

There are two intermediary strong rooms for the two districts – one at Jiribam and another at SDO office, Henglep.

A total of 5 Observers were already here to oversee the election preparations. Shri Rahul Dwivedi and Shri Siladitya Basuray were General Observers while Shri Mithun Nandkumar Shete and Shri Vijay Kumar R. Mangla were Expenditure Observers for the districts. Police Observer for all the six ACs is Shri Rahul Dev Singh. A dedicated Observers’ Control Room has been opened at R-204, A-2 Building, Mini-Secretariat Quarters, Tuibong, Churachandpur.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

DRI seizes 23 kg gold smuggled through Mizoram, 4 arrested

New Delhi: Directorate of Revenue Intelligence (DRI) has seized 23.23 kg foreign origin gold worth Rs 11.65 crore being...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -