27 C
Sunday, January 29, 2023
No menu items!

Panchayat bypolls in Arunachal: BJP wins 102 GP seats unopposed

“It is testimony of the love, care, respect & developmental support extended by BJP under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi towards North East”.

Must Read

Itanagar: Continuing its juggernaut in the battle of ballots, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Arunachal Pradesh won 102 seats of Gram Panchayat Member (GPM) out of the total of 130 GP constituencies going to the byelections slated to be held on July 12.

Although a formal announcement from the State Election Commission is awaited, senior BJP leader cum Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister Bamang Felix, while confirming the Saffron party’s “superb show”, said that out of the total of 130 GP seats up for grab in the July 12 bye-polls, 116 seats, including 102 by BJP, were won without any contest.

- Advertisement -

Chief Minister Pema Khandu, while thanking the BJP functionaries and supporters for the Saffron party’s impressive show in the rural body polls without a fight, said, “It is testimony of the love, care, respect & developmental support extended by BJP under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi towards North East”.

“Congratulations and thanks to all karyakartas, supporters and sympathisers for electing 102 @BJP4Arunachal candidates unopposed in bye-elections to 130 Gram Panchayat Constituencies of Arunachal Pradesh,” Khandu stated in a tweet.

Union Law and Justice Minister Kiren Rijiju, re-tweeting Khandu’s post, said: “People of Arunachal Pradesh have full faith in the leadership of @PemaKhanduBJP Ji who is working tirelessly to fulfill the aspirations of the people and implement the visions of PM @narendramodi Ji to develop North-East.”

Union Minister Hardeep Singh Puri also congratulated the leaders and karyakartas of Arunachal BJP for the polls victory. “102 @BJP4Arunachal candidates elected unopposed in by-poll to 130 Gram Panchayat Constituencies! Reflects immense popularity & acceptance of BJP in India’s North East Region! Congratulations to BJP Karyakartas & leadership of Arunachal”, Puri said in a tweet.

Deputy Chief Minister Chowna Mein wrote in a tweet: “Congratulations to all the @BJP4Arunachal party office bearers, karyakartas & supporters for electing 102 BJP candidates Unopposed in Gram Panchayat bye-elections. It is the outcome of people’s confidence in @BJP4India Govt in the Centre led by HPM@narendramodi ji. And the people friendly State Govt led by CM @PemaKhanduBJP ji and the team & hard work of the party office bearers & karyakartas. My best wishes to all the elected Gram Panchayat Members.”

The bypolls to the two-tier Panchayat bodies – 130 Gram Panchayat Constituencies and one Zilla Parishad (ZP) Constituency spread over 20 districts of the state – is scheduled to be held on July 12. Counting of votes and declaration of results will take place on July 16.

The general elections to the rural local bodies were held in December 2020.

The by-poll was necessitated due to various reasons such as rejection of nomination papers, non-availability of eligible candidates, law and order, and disqualification under anti defection law, death and resignation (of elected members), State Election Commissioner Hage Kojeen had said.

The elections to 40 GPCs and one ZP seat in Vijoynagar administrative sub-division of Changlang district have been kept pending due to law and order, and other administrative issues, the SEC had said.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Simmering discontent over candidates of BJP and Congress in Tripura

Agartala:Dissidence among ruling BJP workers against the nomination of candidates across Tripura for the last 24 hours caused the...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -