27 C
Tuesday, June 6, 2023
No menu items!

Manipur: All set for 2nd phase polling for 22 ACs on Saturday

A total of 8,38,730 electors including 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgender will exercise their franchise in Phase-II, out of which 20,511 are 80+ voters.

Must Read

Imphal: In the 2nd Phase of elections for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly, a total of 22 Assembly Constituencies under six electoral districts namely 10 in Thoubal, 2 in Chandel, 3 in Ukhrul, 3 in Senapati, 3 in Tamenglong and 1 in Jiribam will go for polls on Saturday, March 5, 2022. 

A total of 8,38,730 electors including 4,10,020 males, 4,28,679 females and 31 transgender will exercise their franchise in Phase-II, out of which 20,511 are 80+ voters. There are a total of 4849 PwD electors and 480 Centenarian voters. There are a total of 1247 polling stations including 12 polling stations and 213 polling stations. 

- Advertisement -

It is worth mentioning that 223 polling stations will be completely manned by all-women polling personnel. Notably, 31- Thoubal AC will be manned by all women polling teams. A total of 4988 polling personnel are being deployed and all polling personnel have reached their respective polling stations. There will be 39 Model Polling Stations. 

CEO, Manipur stated that voter slips are no longer stand-alone identity documents, and hence voters shall require to produce one of the 12 identity documents approved by the Commission, which include EPIC card, Aadhaar Card, MNREGA Job Card, Passbooks with photographs issued by Bank/Post Office, Health Insurance Smart Card issued under the important scheme of Ministry of Labour, Driving License, PAN Card, Smart Card issued by RGI under NPR, Indian Passport, Pension document with photograph, Service Identity Cards with photograph issued to employees by Central/State Govt./PSUs/Public Limited Companies and Official identity cards issued to MPs/MLAs/MLCs. 

A total of 92 candidates including 2 female are in fray for the poll scheduled tomorrow. Out of 92 candidates, 17 candidates have criminal antecedents. The party wise number of candidates: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) -22, Indian National Congress (INC)-18, Naga People’s Front (NPF)- 10, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) -02, National People’s Party (NPP) -11, Janata Dal-United (JD-U) -10, Republican Party of India-Athawale (RPI-A) -03, Shiv Sena-02, one candidate each from CPI and Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party (RJSP) and Independent – 12.

Arrangement for webcasting/videography has been made in all Polling Stations. Adequate CAPF have been deployed in all polling stations. In addition, micro observers have been deployed in all critical polling stations. 

As was done in Phase I elections, adequate arrangements have been made in all polling stations to ensure COVID safe election. All polling stations have been sanitized. ASHA and Anganwadi workers have been engaged. Marking of circles with minimum distance has been done to avoid crowding. Besides, masks, gloves, face shields, thermal scanners, PPE kit etc. have been provided to polling parties. Voters who are COVID positive or are under quarantine will be allowed to vote at the last hour between 3 PM to 4 PM. 

Furthermore, as done in Phase 1 elections held on 28th February, 222, arrangements have been made on accessibility fronts. Provision for Pick up/Drop facilities for PwD and aged electors are made available with wheelchair facility. Besides, two volunteers have been engaged in each polling station for assisting voters. Voter Assistance Booths have also been set up in all polling stations. 

For both Phase I and II elections, out of a total of 21944 Postal Ballots issued to service electors, 2895 have exercised their franchise and marked PBs have been received by the concerned Returning Officers till date. With respect to voters on election duty, 7010 voters have exercised their franchise at the facilitation centre. Further, 1230 PwD voters have also cast their votes through postal ballots at their respective residences. In addition, 7230 voters of the age of 80 also exercise their franchise at their respective residences. Besides, 16 Voters under the category of essential services have cast their votes at the facilitation centres. 

The movement of EVMs are being tracked with the help of e-Traccar App which is embedded in the mobile phones of Polling personnel and Sector Officers. Besides, a polling personnel will be able to report any sort of EVM malfunctioning or any untoward incident happening in the polling station. This will enable the Returning Officer to take immediate corrective actions. Control Rooms have been set up in all offices of Returning Officers, District Election Officers and Chief Electoral Officer, Manipur. 

In order to ensure a free, fair and smooth elections, certain restrictions have been imposed on poll day in the polling station premises. Providing free conveyance to voters to and from the polling stations by a candidate/his agent is a corrupt practice and strictly forbidden. As provided in Section 130 of Representation of the People Act, 1951, canvassing within a polling station or any public or private place within a distance of 100 meters of a polling station is strictly prohibited. Cellular phones, cordless phone etc., shall not be allowed except for officers on duty in the 100 meters of a Polling Station. Besides, no campaign-related posters or banners within 100 meters of the Polling Booth are allowed. Use of loudspeakers within 100 metre Polling Station is also strictly prohibited. Candidates shall also not set up booths within 200 metres of the polling booth. 

The High Court of Manipur, in its Order dated 3rd March 3,, 2022 in PIL No.8 of 2022, has directed to undertake verification of dates of birth of all young voters in 33- Heirok Assembly Constituency who appear to be in the vicinity of the age of majority, i.e. 18 years by producing two separate documents of proof of date of birth at the polling station on the day of poll. As per Court’s order, the documents to be produced by such voters may be a passport, a birth certificate, a Class-10 certificate, an Adhaar Card, an Election Identity Card, or any other authenticated document certifying the date of birth or age. For verification of all such young people, separate verification counters shall be set up in all polling stations so that no inconvenience is caused to other voters who face no such issue, being of older age. Page 4 of 4 

It may be noted that repoll for 12 polling stations of 1st Phase Assembly Constituencies are also scheduled for Saturday. The 12 Polling Stations going for re-poll are 1/20-Sarouthel (1- Khundrakpam AC), Imphal East; 51/46- New Keithelmanbi (51-Saitu(ST) AC), Kangpokpi; from Churachandpur District – 56/5-Songsang, 56/10-Maite and 56/19-Tinsuong (56-Thanlon (ST) AC); 57/20- Majuron Kuki, 57/31-N.Chingphei, 57/34- Khoirentak, 57/39- Molsang and 57/49- Leinom (57-Henglep (ST) AC); 60/36- Teikot and 60/43- Maukot (60-Singhat (ST) AC), said a press release issued by the Joint CEO.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Manipur violence: 1 BSF man killed, 2 AR soldiers injured

Imphal: A fierce gun battle erupted between suspected Kuki terrorists and security forces personnel at Serou area under Sugnu...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -