13.6 C
Monday, November 28, 2022
No menu items!

Blow to Nitish: Arunachal’s lone JD(U) MLA joints BJP

This ‘latest’ development comes days after the Bihar CM severed ties with the BJP-led NDA to realign with the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led RJD and install a new government in the state.

Must Read

Itanagar: The Nitish Kumar-led Janata Dal (United) has suffered the ‘final’ blow in Arunachal Pradesh as the lone MLA of the JD(U) from Itanagar constituency, Techi Kaso, has switched over to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

This ‘latest’ development comes days after the Bihar Chief Minister severed ties with the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance to realign with the Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and install a new government in the state.

- Advertisement -

Confirming the latest political development, the Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly Secretariat on Wednesday issued a bulletin regarding ‘change of party affiliation’ as required under Rule 4 of the ‘Members of Arunachal Pradesh Legislative Assembly (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1987’.

With this, the BJP’s strength in the 60-member Assembly increased to 49 even though the ruling party had won 41 seats in the 2019 elections, while the new entrant JD(U) secured seven seats to emerge as the second largest party after the BJP.

However, in December 2020, six of the seven JD(U) MLAs had shifted loyalty to the Saffron party, giving a major setback to Nitish Kumar, who at that moment sought to downplay the split saying “They have gone their own way”.

The JD(U) legislators who jump-shifted were Talem Taboh from Rumgong constituency, Hayeng Mangfi (Chayang Tajo), Jikke Tako (Tali), Dorjee Wangdi Kharma (Kalaktang), Dongru Siongju (Bomdila) and Kanggong Taku from Mariyang-Geku. The lone lawmaker from the regional People’s Party of Arunachal (PPA), Kardo Nyigyor from Likabali constituency, had also joined the BJP at that time.

In the 60-member House, the Opposition Congress and the National People’s Party (NPP) have four members each. There are also three Independents. 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Int’l Polo: Manipur edge past UK 8-7; both teams to clash in the final

Imphal : USA conceded its match against India A in the beginning of the 3rd Chukkar in the 1st...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -