24.3 C
Sunday, May 28, 2023
No menu items!

Will give corruption-free govt, fulfil 5Gs declared: Rahul

According to experts, these 5Gs will cost Rs 60,000 crore anually to the state exchequer.

Must Read

Bengaluru: Giving a speech after Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar were sworn-in as Karnataka’s CM and DyCM respectively, former AICC President Rahul Gandhi on Saturday said the Congress party will give a clean and non-corrupt government, and fulfill the 5 guarantees declared in party’s manifesto.

“We will give you a clean, non-corrupt government … I had said we don’t make false promises. We do what we say. In 1-2 hours, the first cabinet meeting of the Karnataka government will happen and that in meeting these 5 guarantees (5Gs) will become law,” he said.

- Advertisement -

The 5Gs are: Free electricity up to 200 units, Rs 2,000 a month to women head of the poor family, free travel for women, Rs 3,000 for graduate and Rs 1,500 for diploma as unemployed allowance for two years, and 10 kg free rice to BPL families.

According to experts, these 5Gs will cost Rs 60,000 crore anually to the state exchequer.

Rahul Gandhi also said the Congress won the Karnataka election because the party stood with the poor, Dalits, and Adivasis and Backward Classes.
Also, the party had truth with its side, and hence it won the election, but the BJP had money, police and everything, but the people of Karnataka defeated them, former AICC President said.

“One of the reasons for this victory was that the Congress stood with the poor, Dalits, tribals and backward people. The truth was with us. You all have defeated the hatred of BJP. You have defeated the corruption of BJP.
BJP had immense wealth and we had nothing. That’s why we heartily thank the people of Karnataka,” he said.

Earlier, Karnataka Governor Thaawarchand Gehlot administered oath to Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar and sworn them as Karnataka Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister, respectively.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at Sree Kanteerava Stadium.
This is the second term as CM for 75-year old Siddaramaiah after his earlier five-year stint from 2013, while 61-year old Shivakumar had earlier worked as minister under Siddaramaiah.

Shivakumar will also continue to be Karnataka Congress President till 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Along with Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar, eight legislators were sworn-in as ministers.

The ministers are: G Parameshwara (SC), KH Muniyappa (SC), KJ George (Minority-Christian), MB Patil (Lingayat), Satish Jarkiholi (ST-Valmiki), Priyank Kharge (SC), Ramalinga Reddy (Reddy), and BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan (Minority-Muslim).

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by AICC President Mallikarjuna Kharge and Priyanka Vadra. Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Sushilkumar Shinde also attended the ceremony.

It was also attended by Congress CMs Ashok Gehlot of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh’s Bhupesh Baghel and Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu of Himachal Pradesh.

Other notable names who attended the ceremony were NC Chief Farooq Abdullah, PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti, CPI’s D Raja, CPM General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, NCP Chief Sharad Pawar and Bihar Deputy CM Tejashwi Prasad Yadav.

Karnataka Rajya Sabha MP Syed Naseer Hussain, who oversaw the guest list, said invitations were sent only to CMs of Congress-governed states and UPA partners, and hence names of Kerala CM Pinarayi Vijayan, Odisha’s Naveen Patnaik, Delhi’s Arvind Kejriwal, K Chandrashekar Rao of Telangana and Andhra CM YS Jagan Mohan Reddy were excluded.

Actor and Makkal Neethi Maiam Chief Kamal Haasan and Kannada actor Shivaraj Kumar, who had campaigned for Congress, also attended the event.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Religious leaders must act as peacemakers: Ratan Thiyam

Imphal: Eminent theatre personality Dr. Ratan Thiyam has appealed to the religious leaders of Manipur to take a pro-active...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -