20 C
Wednesday, March 22, 2023
No menu items!

Suspended Congress legislator quits Meghalaya Assembly, joins NPP

Kimfa is the third among the five suspended Congress legislators who resigned as member of the state assembly and joined the NPP. 

Must Read

Shillong: A day after resigning from the Meghalaya Assembly, suspended Congress legislator, Kimfa Marbaniang on Thursday joined the ruling National People’s Party (NPP). 

Kimfa is the third among the five suspended Congress legislators who resigned as member of the state assembly and joined the NPP. 

- Advertisement -

Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, who is also NPP national president, has declared Kimfa as candidate of NPP from Rambrai Jyrngam assembly constituency. 

In the 2018 assembly elections, Kimfa defeated his nearest rival candidate K Phlastingwell Pangniang of Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) by 3,803 votes from Rambrai Jyrngamassembly constituency. 

“The mission of NPP in Meghalaya is made stronger with former MLA Kimfa Marbaniang joining our party. We welcome him to the NPP family. Together, we will continue to serve the people of West Khasi Hills and the border areas and ensure we take them towards greater progress,” Sangma said. 

“I have resigned from the Congress and as a member of the State legislative assembly since my supporters have lost hope with the Congress. They (supporters) have advised me to join the NPP as they see hope with the party in ensuring development to the state.” Kimfa said. 

On December 19, former Congress minister, Dr. Mazel Ampareen Lyngdoh and her party colleague Mohendro Rapsang gave up their membership from the assembly and joined the NPP.

With the resignation of Kimfa, the effective strength of the present assembly has reduced to 54 members in the 60-member legislative assembly. 

This number would come down further with several other members slated to resign ahead of the assembly elections in 2023. 

The mind of the other two suspended Congress legislators – Process T. Sawkmie (Mawlai) and Mayralborn Syiem (Nongpoh) is yet to be known although there are reports that they would be joining the United Democratic Party, a key ally in theruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance coalition  

Trinamool Congress legislator Himalaya Muktan Shangpliang and two NPP legislators — Ferlin C. A. Sangma and Benedic R. Marak – resigned as members of the state legislative assembly and joined the BJP. 

Shangpliang, a former bureaucrat, represents Mawsynram constituency in East Khasi Hills district. Sangma was also a bureaucrat before joining active politics and is a representative from Selsella and Marak from Raksamgre in Garo Hills region.

Another Independent legislator, Samuel Sangma (Baghmara) joined the BJP as an associate member after disassociating from the UDP, although he didn’t resign from the assembly.

Assembly elections to Meghalaya is expected to be held in February 2023. 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Manipur CM calls for preservation of water

Imphal: Water is life, and we cannot survive without it, Manipur Chief Minister  N Biren Singh said on Wednesday,...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -