19.7 C
Thursday, October 6, 2022
No menu items!

Sagolband polling station identified for Intl Election Visitors’ Prog

For smooth implementation of the Silent Dispersal System which will be used for the first time during transportation of polling personnel on the polling day in the district, RO Dr.Imran and his team have been assigned the colour Red.

Must Read

Imphal: Manipur Governor La Ganesan is enrolled as a voter in the 11-Sagolband Assembly Constituency said Returning Officer Dr. Md. Imran Khan adding that the Governor will cast his vote at the 11/34 Old Lambulane (B) Polling Station, which is identified by the Chief Electoral Officer’s Office for virtual tour of the International Election Visitors’ Programme (IEVP).

He said it is indeed an honour to have the Governor enrolled as a voter in the Assembly Constituency.

- Advertisement -

For smooth implementation of the Silent Dispersal System which will be used for the first time during transportation of polling personnel on the polling day in the district, RO Dr.Imran and his team have been assigned the colour Red.

Dr. Imran said out of 36 polling stations in the constituency, five have been included under the Mission 300 Programme of the CEO, Manipur with an aim to increase voter turnout. The five Polling Stations are 11/28, 11/29, 11/30, 11/32, 11/33, with Polling Station 11/29 recording the lowest voting percentage of 54.88 percent in the 2017 election.

Expressing his confidence for an improved voting percentage in the constituency this time, the RO stated that preparations, including intensive SVEEP activities, have been stepped up in the Assembly Constituency under the supervision of DEO, Imphal West Th. Kirankumar. He further appreciated the staff and officials engaged in the election process and said preparation for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election in his constituency has been going smooth due to the support and cooperation of the staff and officials.

The Returning Officer further stated that 11-Sagolband AC covers five Revenue Villages and four Imphal Municipal Council Wards. Altogether 180 polling personnel including women and reserved personnel will be utilized for the 36 Polling Stations.

Sagolband AC has 23,920 electors of which 12,869 are female, 11,045 are male and six are Transgender. 11/36 Yaiskul Police Lane, with only 240 electors, is the Polling Station with the lowest number of electors, and 11/9 Thounoujam Leikai P/S has the highest with 976 electors. 11/33-Tamphasana Girls’ Higher Secondary School-Eastern Wing and 11/34 Tamphasana Girls’ Higher Secondary School-Western Wing have both been identified as Women Polling Stations and Model Polling Stations.

RO Dr. Imran further appealed to the electors in the constituency to come out in numbers and ensure a high voting percentage in the constituency for the successful conduct of the election process.

Sagolband AC has achieved 95.5 percent of first dose COVID Vaccination and 87 percent of second dose vaccination.

Three candidates including sitting MLA RK Imo of the BJP, INC candidate Moirangthem Momo and JD(U) candidate Dr.Khwairakpam Loken Singh are contesting for the Sagolband seat.

11-Sagolband AC is the only constituency to have produced a Chief Minister as well as a Union Minister. RK Jaichandra became the Chief Minister of the State after winning by-polls to the 11-Sagolband AC in 1988. He was also the first Union Minister from the state and served as the Union Minister for Youth Affairs and Sports, and later on as the Chemicals and Petrochemicals Minister in the Cabinet of Rajiv Gandhi between 1985 and 1988. 

In the 1972 Assembly election, Thokchom Bira of the Communist Party of India defeated Salam Gambhir of the MPP and became first Sagolband MLA. However, sitting MLA and CPI candidate Thokchom Bira was defeated by MPP candidate Salam Tombi in the 1974 election.

In 1980, Moirangthem Kumar Singh, contesting on MPP ticket, defeated Independent candidate Salam Damodar. In the 4th State Assembly Elections, 1984, Damodar turned the tables and defeated MLA Kumar of MPP.

Ahead of the 1990 State Assembly elections, a bye-poll for 11-Sagolband AC was held in 1988, in which RK Jaichandra of the INC defeated M Kumar of the MPP. RK Jaichandra repeated the feat and defeated his rival M Kumar in the 1990 State Assembly elections.

In the 6th General Elections to the Manipur Legislative Assembly, 1995, MPP candidate Moirangthem Kumar Singh defeated Janata Dal candidate Dr.Khwairakpam Loken Singh. The 2000 Assembly Elections witnessed a reverse result, as Dr.Khwairakpam Loken Singh, contesting with a Janata Dal (Secular) ticket defeated Moirangthem Kumar of the Manipur State Congress Party.

In 2007, INC candidate Dr.Khwairakpam Loken Singh emerged victor over Soram Natum Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal. Five years ago in 2002, Soram Natum Singh, who contested the election on a Manipur National Conference ticket, had defeated the then INC candidate Dr.Khwairakpam Loken Singh.

In the 10th State Assembly Elections, 2012, Rajkumar Imo Singh, son of former CM RK Jaichandra, contesting on Manipur State Congress Party ticket, defeated INC’s Dr. Loken.   

Imo Singh defended his seat in 2017 election, with Indian National Congress ticket, defeating Dr. Khwairakpam Loken Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Airtel 5G Plus now live in 8 cities

Kolkata: Bharti Airtel (“Airtel”), India's premier communications solutions provider, on Thursday provided more detail on the launch of Airtel...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -