36.4 C
Wednesday, May 31, 2023
No menu items!

Portfolio allocation: Bommai keeps finance, sacrifices water resources

As many as 15 ministers who were a part of the previous dispensation have retained their portfolios, but most surprising of all was the allocation of portfolios to first-time ministers - Aaraga Jnanendra and Sunil Kumar.

Must Read

Bengaluru: Karnataka Governor Thawarchand Gehlot on Saturday announced the list of the portfolios allocated to the new ministers with Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai keeping Finance and Bengaluru Development instead of Water Resources which he had held previously.

As many as 15 ministers who were a part of the previous dispensation have retained their portfolios, but most surprising of all was the allocation of portfolios to first-time ministers – Aaraga Jnanendra and Sunil Kumar.

- Advertisement -

Jnanedra and Kumar have been given home and energy ministries, respectively. Both are affiliated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh. The former has also been given the additional charge of Kannada and Culture Minister.

Yet another first-timer BC Nagesh was allocated primary education which has gained importance during the Covid lockdown.


Bommai has however sacrificed his favourite water resources portfolio to Govind Karjol. Bommai has good hold over the portfolio as he had handled the ministry with aplomb in the past.

He has kept Finance and Bengaluru Development portfolios with him. It is not a surprise because normally Karnataka chief ministers keep these portfolios with them. Even the previous chief minister Yediyurappa had held these posts.

KS Eshwarappa has been given the charge of Rural Development & Panchayat Raj Development.

R Ashoka has been allocated will Revenue. B Sriramulu has been given the charge of Transport & ST Welfare.

Minister KS Eshwarappa has been allocated rural development and Panchayat Raj development.

Bommai’s new cabinet has seven members of the Other Backward Classes (OBC), three members of the Scheduled Caste (SC) community, and one Scheduled Tribe (ST) member. Two from the Brahmin community have also featured in the list.

Bommai took oath as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka on July 28. The 61-year-old leader was elected by the Karnataka BJP legislature party as its new leader to succeed Yediyurappa.

The complete list of Karnataka portfolio allocation has been provided here:

Karnataka chief minister Basavaraj Bommai: DPAR, finance, intelligence from home, cabinet affairs, Bengaluru development, and all unallocated portfolios

Govind Makthappa Karajol: Major and medium irrigation

KS Eshwarappa: Rural development and Panchayat Raj department

R Ashoka: Revenue (excluding Muzarai)

B Sreeramulu: Transport, ST welfare

V Somanna: Housing, infrastructure development

Umesh Vishwanath Katti: Forest, food, civil supplies, and consumer affairs

Angara S: Fisheries, ports and inland transport

JC Madhu Swamy: Minor irrigation, law, Parliamentary affairs, and legislation

Aaraga Jnanendra: Home ministry (excluding intelligence)

Dr Aswath Narayan CN: Higher education, IT & BT, science and technology, skill development

Chandrakantagouda Patil: Public works department (PWD)

Anand Singh: Ecology and environment, tourism

Kota Shrinivas Poojari: Social welfare, backward classes welfare

Prabhu Chauhan: Animal husbandry

Murugesh Rudrappa Nirani: Large and medium industries

Arabail Hebbar Shivaram: Labour ministry

ST Somasehkhar: Co-operation department

BC Patil: Agriculture department

BS Basavaraja: Urban development (including KUWSDB & KUDIDFC, excluding Bengaluru development, BBMP, BDA, BWSSB, BMRDA, BMRCL, and directorate of town planning, urban development department)

Dr K Sudhakar: Health and family welfare, medical education

K Gopalaiah: Excise from the finance department

Jolle Shashikala Annasaheb: Muzarai, Haj & Wakf

N Nagaraju (MTB): Municipal administration, small scale industries, public sector industries

Narayanagowda: Sericulture, youth empowerment, and sports

BV Nagesh: Primary and secondary education and Sakala

V Sunil Kumar: Energy department, Kannada, and culture

Achar Halappa Basappa: Mines and geology from commerce and industries department, women and child development & disabled & senior citizens empowerment

Shankar B Patil Munenakoppa: Handloom and textile department from C & I department, sugarcane development, and directorate of sugar.

Munirathna: Horticulture and planning, programme monitoring, and statistics department.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Japanese Parl adopts law to extend operation of NPPs beyond 60 years

Tokyo: The upper house of the Japanese parliament on Wednesday passed a law to enable the extension of the...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -